top of page

The Most Amazing Caramel Corn!!!

Years ago I decided I wanted to make caramel corn to give as gifts at Christmas. I started searching and came upon a recipe on AllRecipes.com. This one caught my attention because it had the funniest name. It was titled My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn. I mean, with a name like that, I couldn't resist.

Now, I am not one to always follow a recipe as it is written. It almost never fails, I either have to substitute an ingredient out of necessity, or, I change things up because I think I can do it better. Sometimes it works and other times, epic fail!!! In the case of this recipe, SUCCESS!!!

Most of the time I make a traditional caramel corn, but occasionally I will add food coloring if I am using the caramel corn as part of a theme. For example, I did blue recently for a Baby Shower. I have also replaced the brown sugar with 9oz. of red hot candies to make a tasty cinnamon caramel corn. I am going to share the original recipe and also give you the changes that I have made. Try them both and you decide! Would love to hear how it worked for you.

RECIPE (My changes will be in red)

INGREDIENTS:

7quarts plain popped popcorn (4 bags microwave movie butter popcorn, popped)

2 cups brown sugar (light or dark)

1/2 cup light corn syrup

1 cup margarine (1 cup salted butter)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

DIRECTIONS:

1. Place the popped popcorn into two shallow greased baking pans. (I use the disposable foil pans, the really big ones) Side note: make sure you pick out all the unpopped kernnels. Set these pans aside.

2. Preheat the oven to 250 degrees F (120 degrees C ) Combine the brown sugar, corn syrup, margarine/butter and salt in a saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring enough to blend. Once the mixture begins to boil, boil for 5 minutes while stirring constantly.

3. Remove from the heat, and stir in the baking soda and vanilla. The mixture will be light and foamy. Immediately pour over the popcorn in the two pans, and stir to coat. Don't worry too much at this point about getting all the corn coated.

4. Bake for 1 hour, removing the pans, and giving them each a good stir every 15 minutes. Side Note: I rotate the pans from top to bottom in the oven each time I do the stirring.

Line the counter top with wax paper. Dump the corn out onto the waxed paper and separate the pieces. Allow to cool completely, then store in an airtight container or resealable bag.

It really is very easy to make and to quote my husband, "It's screaming!"

Recent Posts
Featured Posts
bottom of page